List of the 10 Commandments

God gave these ten laws for our benefit. Through them, our Creator teaches us how to have a better life now and how to be merciful to Him for all eternity.

God revealed the Ten Commandments on Mount Sinai with smoke, earthquakes, and the sound of a trumpet that highlighted the importance of His laws. Later, Moses recorded his words in Exodus 20 and Deuteronomy 5. Both passages differ only slightly in their emphasis. Below you will find these two versions of the Ten Commandments list, along with one that presents them in summary form.

The order of the commandments we use is the one accepted by most Christian religions. However, there are some religions, such as the Catholic and the Jewish, that have other orders.

The Ten Commandments, short version:

1- You will not have other gods before me.
2- You will not make idols.
3- You will not take the name of the eternal God in vain .
4- Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy .
5- Honor your father and your mother .
6- You will not kill .
7- You shall not commit adultery .
8- You will not steal .
9- You shall not speak false testimony against your neighbor.
10- You will not covet .
Privacy Policy