In the days before the Roman Empire, Asia Minor consisted of a collection of independent states. When it came under the control of the Romans, the whole area was redivided to form a number of Roman provinces. The large central province, which the Romans named Galatia, included parts of the ancient regions of Galatia in the north, Phrygia in the south-west, Pisidia in the south and Lycaonia in the southeast Paul passed through south Galatia on a number of occasions and established churches in the towns of Antioch, Iconium, Lystra and Derbe. Sometimes the Bible writers refer to these towns as belonging to the Roman province of Galatia, but on other occasions they follow local practice and use the former names (Acts 13:14,51; 14:6,24; 16:6; 18:23; 1 Cor 16:1; Gal 1:2; 2 Tim 4:10). (Concerning the letter that Paul wrote to the churches of Galatia see GALATIANS, LETTER TO THE.)

Privacy Policy